Testimonials

Kilimanjaro climbs and Wildlife Safari Special Offers
Tanzania On Foot request  all clients who worked with us to leave their feedback on this page to enable us improve our work.
Thank you for your support through feedback.
Andrew -The  Operations Manager
Mobile Number: +255787112736

21 Comments on this article. Feel free to join this conversation.

  1. Travel Consultant November 8, 2014 at 6:24 pm -

    Vincent from Netherlands
    In september 2014 we climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro organised by Tanzania on Foot We reached the top thanks to the wonderfull team of guides, cook and porters. Chief guide was Abdul Hemedi who was absolutely competent, social, very helpfull and perfectly organised.

    Unfortunately this could not be said about Wiliam Wagana (manager of Tanzania on Foot). First of all there was a misunderstanding about our trekking dates which we found really unprofessional after at least 20 email contacts. This led to the fact that we had problems with our permits and we had to loan the company money to buy the permits for the three of us for six days. They fully refunded us on the last day of our trek, but we were definately worried about this.
    Secondly we found ourselves waiting for Wiliam, both before and at the end of our trip for quitte some time. This made us not regaining our trust in him.

    We had really good contact with Tanzania on Foot by email. After the trip however we feel that the company didn’t live up to our expectations. If you decide to book with them we recommend that you specify your agreement very clearly and ask for a detailed (financial) confirmation. And ask for Abdul to be your guide 🙂

    Vincent, Lysbert and Roeland (The Netherlands)

  2. Travel Consultant November 8, 2014 at 7:06 pm -

    Helen from UK
    Hi William,
    I wrote this recommendation of your work that you can include on your profile.
    We all really appreciated your efforts.
    “William did a very professional job getting my husband and sons, who were not without problems, to the summit using the Lemosho route.
    He also organised a memorable day trip for me into the Arusha National Park which included a walking safari amongst the giraffes, buffalo and monkeys.
    After the guys came back from the Kilimanjaro he had organised a trip to the Ngorogoro Park with a night stopover where we experienced a real safari, our driver/guide was extremely good and we managed to see a caracal ( wild cat) thanks to his eyes, along with zebra, lions, black rhino and loads more.
    I was very happy to have booked directly with William as all the monies are then kept locally and help the communities. Thank you so much for a fantastic experience.”

  3. Travel Consultant November 8, 2014 at 7:15 pm -

    Nigel from UK
    Very good service. William Wagama is very reliable. Just finished Lemosho route with two sons. Wired him $6000 and there he was at the airport to pick us up. I feel its better to put the money in the local economy where possible. I noticed some European companies were sub-contracting totally to the local guides – so why not deal direct?

  4. Travel Consultant March 14, 2015 at 3:18 pm -

    Tanzania on Foot – Kilimanjaro”TripAdvisor-Review.
    Reviewed September 2, 2012
    My husband and I just got back from hiking Mt. Kilimanjaro with Tanzania on Foot. Before this, we have had experience hiking in New England, USA but never at altitudes comparable with Kilimanjaro.

    From the beginning, Tanzania on Foot exceeded our expectations. William, our trip coordinator, responded promptly to all of our emails, was explicit with trip joining instructions, outlined what to expect and helped us prepare for our journey. Upon arrival our driver was waiting for us as planned to drive us to our hotel. The Ilboru Safari Lodge, the hotel that Tanzania on Foot works with, was clean and comfortable with friendly staff and a wide range of food to choose from. A perfect spot to rest after a 36 hour trip!

    The day before our hike, William met us with our hiking team including our guide, assistant guide, doctor and cook (Bertiki, Saloman, Robert, and Juma). We were introduced to each team member and went over the day by day expectations for the trip. The team was friendly and professional. They seemed genuinely excited to be part of our group!

    The next day we were picked up promptly and began our journey! Absolutely every detail was accounted for from daily snacks to extra toilet paper. My husband and I felt spoiled with our own dining tent, daily tea time, and personal server (Liberate Minja). Our sleeping pads and bags, which we rented from Tanzania on Foot, were comfortable and warm. We were even woken up every morning with tea and hot water for washing! Juma, our cook was amazing. We looked forward to an abundance of healthy, fresh meals every day.

    The rest of our trip was just as enjoyable. Bertiki, Salomon, and Robert were experts on the area and answered all of our questions. They met with us each night to ask how we were, take our oxygen and heart rate numbers, and discuss the next day. They were social, happy, and great at keeping up the team spirit. This was especially appreciated during our ascent to the summit. The team carried our bags, engaged us with their singing, and supplied us with hot tea and plenty of positive reinforcement to help us make it to the top!

    By the end of the trip, we truly felt like family. This has been one of the greatest experiences that my husband and I have had with a tour company. We would recommend Tanzania on Foot to anyone!

  5. Travel Consultant March 14, 2015 at 3:23 pm -

    We had the same concerns about payment and some other concerns (read below ;o)) but they are a very fair company.

    We decided to write a long review because we couldn’t find one online either and they really deserve a review.

    We took a 5 day private safari (for two persons) in Serengeti and Ngorongoro with Tanzania on Foot during the last week of June 2012. And we planed and booked the safari from Denmark over the internet.

    It was our first time traveling with Tanzania on Foot so we were pleased to find out that every agreement we made during our planning process was met to the fullest and sometimes even exceeded our expectations.

    We have added some examples below of how Tanzania on Foot handled our concerns but for the reader how doesn’t want to read it all ;o) we will end by warmly recommending both planning and traveling with Tanzania on Foot.

    The safari vehicle:

    Reading from other safari company reviews we were concerned that we would be given an old safari vehicle which would breakdown or be uncomfortable during the long game drives.

    Tanzania on Foot promised that they only had new cars and they were checked before and after each safari. And to our surprise Tanzania on Foot showed up the first day with two brand new cars (one for 8 and one for 6 persons) and told us to pick the one we wanted. The other would then be on standby in case of a breakdown during our safari. However our car was in such a good condition that we didn’t need to test this extra (free of charge) insurance.

    The Lodges:

    Less than a week before our safari a violent robbery occurred at one of our lodges. A friend from Arusha/Tanzania warned us about this robbery and when we contacted Tanzania on Foot the day after the robbery they had already booked a new lodge for us. They were planning to tell us about the incident upon arrival and give us the choice to pick between the two bookings (without any extra cost). We chose the new booking and it was just as good as the previous planned lodge.

    Cutting corners during the safari:

    We read that some safari companies would only drive a certain amount of kilometers and leave the parks early in order to save money on fuel and park fees (thereby increasing their profit).

    We were promised no driving limit and that we got. Not once did we drive out the gates with more than 30 minutes to spare and even during transport (towards The Great Migration) we did game drives off the main road.

    The guide:

    For a great safari we knew we would need an experienced guide and Tanzania on Foot promised that they only had guides with more than 5 years experience.

    During our safari we found out that Tanzania on Foot pays their guides a fair salary which means that they can attract some of the more experienced guides. Our Guide (Abi) had 8 years of experience and with a VIP scrapbook like his then we knew we were in good hands (If he has taking you on a safari you know what we mean :o)).

    Our guide spotted the big five on day 1 and even though this also requires a great deal of luck then we are sure that some of the less experienced guides drove past the rhino we saw that day without spotting it (our “city eyes” needed binoculars to confirm it :o)).

    By the end of our safari we had seen (of the big five) 3 leopards, 5 rhinos, 20+ lions, 100+ elephants, 200+ buffaloes and many others (including a cheetah)

    Our guide always had the car ready on time and all the preparations were done so that we could spend time on the game drives. He was the kind of person you like to spend 5 days with. He was funny, always in a good mood and willing to share his vast knowledge of the area and animals.

    Conclusion:

    We do not have one thing that we can complain about for our safari. Every promise Tanzania on Foot made to us they kept and we will recommend you to plan your safari with them anytime.

    Tanzania on Foot gave us a great safari vehicle, found some good lodges, never cut any corners in order to increase their profit and gave us a fantastic guide. Thank you for a perfect safari vacation.

  6. Travel Consultant March 14, 2015 at 3:27 pm -

    We arranged a 7 day trek of the Rongai Route to Mt Kili summit as a fundraiser for our non-profit. We were a group of 10 of varying abilities and from different countries/of different ages.

    As a non-profit that works in developing countries, it is really important to us that companies we work with have ethical staff standards and environmental protection policies. Tanzania on Foot ticked both of these boxes, had great reviews and was competitively priced – the easy choice.

    As an organization that has done this trek 6 times before, we were really impressed with Tanzania on Foot. From the beginning, I was in contact with William who was always prompt and helpful in answering my questions and making arrangements. William also accompanied our group on the trek, along with 3 other guides, 6 helping porters, 1 cook and 20-something porters.

    We were really happy with the way the trek ran – we did have exceptionally bad weather which made things tricky and meant that unfortunately we weren’t able to summit as planned. I think some additional communication on summit day would’ve been helpful – I understood that due to the storm and the cold we couldn’t stop for breaks unless there was shelter, but not all of group realised this and were confused why we couldn’t stop more regularly.

    The rental gear was good – any gear that we had issues with was replaced with spares they had on hand (tent, spare sleeping bag). Everyone was happy with their clean, good quality sleeping bags and down jackets.

    Food was great and varied, and probably even too much food at times (altitude either makes you really hungry or really not!).

    There wasn’t any information on altitude sickness given during the briefing by Tanzania on Foot staff, so if this is important for your group, either do your research before you go, or ask William and his team to cover it for you. Not an issue for us as we had people with high altitude experience in group already.

    We would definitely use Tanzania on Foot again in the future – I think I may even go back separate from my organization so I can say I’ve reached the summit!

  7. Travel Consultant September 19, 2015 at 3:40 pm -

    Kilimanjaro testimonial I cannot thank you or your company enough my Kilimanjaro Trek was unbelievably amazing (whilst also being horrific at the same time if you are talking specifically about summit night).

    Kilimanjaro Open Charity Group Climbs Kilimanjaro Open Charity Group Climbs

    I signed up for Kili with you guys about 18 months ago because I needed to get out of a very dark place in my life. At the time I held the trek as a stepping stone to being able to achieve something by myself, I believed then that if I could climb the mountain I could cope with anything, and it really was about the climb, but the truth is the entire experience has given me 100 times more than I ever expected. I dedicated the last 18 months to raising money for Alzheimer Scotland as my grandpa has dementia. Without that initial target to achieve I would not have met so many amazing people, or taken part in as many fantastic mini challenges. I have gone from the lowest point in my life to quite possibly the highest. The Kilimanjaro trek was absolutely fantastic, but being with such an amazing bunch of people really made it a life changing experience…and I have you all to thank for that. To everyone in charity challenge you are all amazing, no matter how daft my query it was answered swiftly and personally, I cannot fault a single thing about the organisation of my trek, and it is testimony that our very experienced guide William Wagan prefers only to walk with Charity Challenge groups on the few occasions that he now climbs the mountain. Prior to the trek I had spoken with quite a few individuals who had climbed the mountain and was given lots of different tips and advice, with particular mention always being given re the food and the toilet situation. I am delighted to write that on my case they were all wrong. The two chef’s we had Trophie and Jeremiah were outstanding – the quality of the food was quite unbelievable some days…we literally had three courses every single breakfast lunch and dinner – it was just amazing we were so well looked after, and the meals were exceptional with regards to providing us with the perfect balance of nutrients at the right time. Every last detail was considered throughout our trek, every single porter was priceless. As far as our guides go I don’t know where to start. William Wagana – I have never met such a kind, warm hearted patient individual. William made the trip for me – he had a fantastic sense of humour with a laugh that just made you want to laugh with him. He never lost his temper although I’m sure he was tested every single day – that said there was no doubt just how assertive he was. He was never negative and never doubted you – he has the perfect nature to be a lead guide. I really struggled with the climb in altitude around the 5400m mark, however even at my worst point he still looked me in the eye and said I was going to make it to the top – he never let doubt or a negative thought creep into my head. Between him and Jonas they made sure I was going to make it. Jonas carried my bag – my extra layers and my poles, while William linked arms with me and literally walked me step by step up the mountain. He never once let go of my arm – he gave me strength that I never knew I had. I owe my summit success to him and Jonas. William is also a fantastic judge of character because the 7 assistant guides he took with him were also fantastic and I am very grateful to have had the chance to get to know them well across the 8 day trek. Said, Wilfred, Davis, Seigfried, Henry, Jonas, Hudson and Coleman were out of this world – they each individually made sure that our Kili trek was an experience we will never forget and to them I am thankful. As for Alex – we couldn’t have had a nicer doctor to accompany us on our trip. Strange as it is I didn’t see him as our doctor he was part of our group – doing the trek like us all (but with some very handy and very much required medical skills). Alex had to deal with me twice, once when I lost my sight temporarily and again on summit night. Every time I had to seek Alex’s advice he was the ultimate professional. Extremely calm and reassuring…something I was ever so grateful for when I was having panic attacks on summit night. Even though he was further up the mountain I had piece of mind in my head that I knew Alex wasn’t far away and that really helped me have faith to continue on. I still to this day do not know how Alex coped with summit night – he was treating probably 5 of us a the same time and even when we were back down to camp was still working hard. he must have been exhausted let alone suffering from the effects of altitude himself. He is an absolute star…and I think the experience he had from A & E certainly held him in good stead. I still find it weird talking of Alex as the doctor because he was so much more than that he was part of our group and the experience wouldn’t have been the same without him – I hope to also keep in touch with Alex as time goes on. I really cannot thank your organisation and everyone in the office enough, I will have no doubts about recommending you to friends who are considering doing fundraising in the future…and I myself hope to sign up for another challenge at some point. With kind regards and best wishes.

    From Ali Hutchison
    Kilimanjaro Summit Climb.

  8. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:37 am -

    Szymon Wisniewski
    I would like to thank you once again for the perfect organisation of our trip on the Kilimanjaro. I was very impressed by the beauty of Africa and kindness of the people from your country. I wish to visit Tanzania again, next time maybe with my son and my women.
    I would like to write a short feedback about the good experience with your company on the homepage.
    I hope to see you again

  9. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:38 am -

    Hritul Karim
    Hello!
    My name is Hritul Karim. Last December, me and my friend Oscar Strand traveled to Tanzania as a part of a course in our medical programme in Sweden, Stockholm. We are both 22 years old medical students from Stockholm, and had at that point never been to Africa prior to that trip. We went to Tz one week in advance to enjoy some safari and other tourist attractions. Our safari trip was organized by Big Time Holidays, who were recommended to us by a friend who had worked in Tz earlier.
    We can warmly recommend you to travel with Big Time Holidays. They have excellent service and customer care. The safari journeys were of course a great pleasure. The will help with everything from pick-up at airport to all the lodging and meals during the safari days, there was nothing we had to do but to enjoy the trip.
    If you have any questions, please let me know.
    Best regards,
    Hritul Karim

  10. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:38 am -

    Gregg and Lis Finlay
    We had a great time with William on our ascent of Mount Meru. It was our first ever climb so we were completely in his hands and he was fantastic. His understanding of the climb, knowledge of the area, passion for his country and love of the job all shone through making the whole experience thoroughly fantastic. If you’re thinking of a climb or a walk with these guys, don’t hesitate!

  11. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:38 am -

    Julia Smith
    I have been thinking how to express so many good and happy thoughts of William and his team and the most amazing memories of climbing Mt.Meru. Then I realised that every time I thought about my experiences with our group and of our fabulous leader William I smiled!
    His wide range of skills from organizer, educator to entertainer was faultless. His patience and quiet confidence that each one of his group would succeed was inspiring. I confess that climbing Kili is not near the top of my ‘to do’ list but if I ever consider it, it would only be with the assistance of William and his company. In the future if anyone is going on a similar trip I would not hesitate to recommend him whole heartedly.
    All the very best for the future William.

  12. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:39 am -

    Julia Roberson
    he climb of Mount Meru was an absolute pleasure with William and his team. Always there with a huge encouraging smile and reassuring words there was never a doubt in your mind that you would get to the top. The perfect Tanzanian host, bringing what could easily been seen as a difficult task to life with enthusiasm and most importantly lots of amusement. Can’t wait to go back to back to climb Kilimanjaro with his his team.

  13. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:39 am -

    Jen Button
    From the moment that he met us at the airport to the moment that he left us at Arusha, William played the happy host. He made the Meru climb enjoyable with his easy manner and fabulous sense of humour, all the while assessing our needs for the final ascent. I had constant and complete faith in his ability to keep us safe and to act quickly and without fuss if we needed support. I feel that my personal triumph was in no small part due to William and his gentle persuasiveness to keep on going when things got tough. I am delighted to hear that he is starting his own business and wish him every success in this and future endeavours – he is one in a million.

  14. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:40 am -

    Lucy McCrickard
    William was the perfect Guide and Team Leader for a nervous novice like me. His care and concern for the welfare of the group was reassuring and ‘pole pole’ is a phrase we won’t be forgetting in a long while . His in depth knowledge of the flora, fauna and landscape was also impressive and made the expedition that much more fascinating.If I ever do go back to tackle Kili I would certainly hope William and his lovely team could be the ones to get me through it!

  15. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:40 am -

    Estelle Couture
    I highly recommend William as a guide. He was very professional during our climb of Mount Meru and made the whole experience so much fun with his great sense of humour and smile. We wanted to take him back to the UK with us as a personal trainer!

  16. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:40 am -

    Joy Skipper
    William was a delight to spend time on the mountain with. Not only did he make the climb fun (lots of jokes and card-playing along the way), he also gave a huge amount of confidence in his dealing with the other members of his team in organising our food, bags, bedding etc. His positive attitude did not allow for any thoughts of failure to get to the top of Meru, and you knew he would do everything in his power to get you there safely and with a smile.
    I would recommend William and his team wholeheartedly!

  17. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:41 am -

    Simon Hay
    I wanted to drop you a note about William. He was our tour guide and I wanted you to know what a brilliant job he did for you and what a credit he is to your company. I head a company of almost 2000 employees around the world and William showed leadership capability and values that I rarely see.
    William looked after us every step of the journey, he was always watching and taking in information on our progress, capability and strengths. When leadership was needed he was always there (sorting out a traffic jam on the Baracco wall, helping members of our team on a difficult last night) but at other times he was a member of the team and joined in our fun and conversations.
    Our whole group was immensely impressed with William, his team of guides and the overall organisation of our trip. We had an amazing time and memories that will last a lifetime.
    Thank you and best wishes

  18. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:41 am -

    Jim Hytner
    Jim Hytner
    William is a sensational leader and an extraordinary man. There is no one better, I suspect. He knows the mountain, knows how to influence those around him (and on the trip were some heavyweight egos, including my own) and knows exactly how to pace the trip. He was a leader, a guide, an inspiration and a friend. 100 out of 100.
    Best Regards
    Jim

  19. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:41 am -

    Fouad Khalife
    Fouad Khalife
    Thank you Big Time Holidays for an amazing and unforgettable two weeks in Kilimanjaro – Serengeti – Ngorongoro – Lake Manyara. Everything was perfect and well organized! I strongly recommend Big Time Holidays as an operator!

  20. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:42 am -

    Jairo Vagas
    We did a 7 day tour with Tanzania on foot’ last december 2013. We choose this company because we wanted a good balance of safari and trekking in Ngorongoro area.
    The experience with this company in general was very good. However, we have some advices to keep in mind for future tours with this or any other tour operator in order to have the best experience:
    – Tipping:
    The good quality is included in the price of any product or service you buy. Nobody pays to receive a bad service in return. Therefore Tipping shall not be a mechanism to ensure quality but a way to express gratitude for an ‘exceptional’ service. This means when you receive something on top of what was agreed.
    Keep in mind that the salary of the personnel shall not be linked to the tips. Otherwise, you will have a lot of pressure from all the tour personnel putting this subject on the table during the whole tour.
    As it is not known if the tours operators pays good or not to its employees, it can help to agree in advance the tip amounts with the tour seller in order to consider these values in your budget as a transparent and extra tour cost.
    – Money should not be discussed with the personnel of the tour.
    Keep communication on this subject only with the tour seller. Or agree on the tip chart values with them since the beginning.
    – Something positive of this Company is that they agree with a payment 50% at the beginning of the tour and 50% at the end. This is a good practice to ensure quality of the service until the end of the tour and to compensate fairly for un-expected changes in the plans of the tour if this is decided or required by the tour seller.
    – The trekking itself was amazing in Ngorongoro area. AMAZING!
    – The Massai Guide was great, we really enjoyed the time with him. He received a good tip mainly because he did not ask for it. We learn so much from him.
    – We notice that many Massais were asking for money for nothing in return during the whole trip (especially kids). The bad point of this practice is that it is affecting the good spirits of this wise culture. The easy money behavior is not good for any culture in the long run and it is sad to see that it is polluting this areas. Therefore, in order to be keep sustainable tourism in this area is good to avoid giving money for nothing, but paying a fair amount for any provided work.
    – The tour/driver guide was very responsible and did a good job but unfortunately created a very dense atmosphere during the whole tour when tried to change the pre-agree tour plan and discussed about tips all the time. We feel very uncomfortable because of this. Specially when presented us the tip chart by surprise on the last day of the trip with all the crew onboard of the car.
    – The route of the trip was good: Karatu+serengeti centre safari+Ndutu area Safari+Ngorongoro Safari+trekking Olmoti Crater until lake Natron.
    Normally you need 3 full days to do the point to point route as it is long. In our case, the tour gave us only 2 of the 3 stages of this trail, which was a bit short for our expectative. The quality of this trekking in any case was AMAZING. One of the best we ever did comparing to some of our previous experiences: South Africa (Hoerikwago Trail), Colombia (Andes Trails with Caminantes del Retorno), Peru (Inca Trail), Corsica, Argentina, Spain (Pirineos Trail) among others.
    Hope this is useful for other travellers,

  21. Travel Consultant February 26, 2016 at 11:44 am -

    Kim Wade
    We just returned from climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. Our trip coordinator, William Wagana, was fantastic. He was prompt to reply to every question (we had many) and came through with every promise and more. Big Time Holidays’s pricing was very competitive. I was concerned about wiring the deposit money (75%), but the more I worked with William the more comfortable I became. As soon as he received our wire, I was informed. (We paid the balance upon arrival.)
    We were greeted at the airport by William and Raymond and taken to our hotel, “The Kilimanjaro Mountain Resort”. We found everyone to be friendly and professional.
    We hiked the Rongai Route and were very pleased with our guides, porters and cook. All did everything possible to make our trip a memorable one. The guides were very well trained and watched us very closely to make sure we were acclimating to the higher altitudes. Honestly, I can’t say enough good things about this group/company.
    We finished our trip with a safari. Also, arranged by William Wagana. Our guide, Abbe, was extremely knowledgeable about the area and the animals. We saw everything. He kept us going from sun up to sun down. We enjoyed staying in the tented camps and driving across country to take in all the sites of the Serengeti. I strongly suggest if you’re going to Tanzania to climb Kili, don’t leave without seeing their animals!

Leave A Response